Dayton Region Economic Development Forum

  • 19 Apr 2013
  • 8:30 AM - 3:30 PM
  • Aileron, 8860 Wildcat Rd , Tipp City, OH 45371



Presented by The Ohio Economic Development Association, the Dayton Development Coalition, JobsOhio West and its partners.

Date: April 19, 2013

Location:  Aileron, 8860 Wildcat Rd , Tipp City, OH 45371

This one day course is designed to provide an overview of current economic development resources, tools and activities available to practitioners serving growing companies in the 14 county JobsOhio West Region.

Who Should Attend:  All West Central Ohio economic development professionals and community elected officials. 

Networking - 8:00-8:30 a.m.

FORUM KICK OFF:  8:30-9:15 a.m.
Jeff Hoagland - President & CEO, Dayton Development Coalition
        Jennifer Ekey - Immediate Past President, OEDA/City of Harrison, Director of Development
        Senator Bill Beagle - District 5 Representative/Chairman of the Senate Standing Committee on Workforce & Economic Development

BREAK OUT SESSION I: 9:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.

·        JobsOhio -Elected Officials
       Kristina Clouse - Project Management Director, JobsOhio
          Nate Green - Senior Project Manager, JobsOhio

·        Advocacy - Econ. Dev. Professionals
Kelly Geers - Director, Government Relations, Dayton Development Coalition

BREAK OUT SESSION II: 10:45 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.

·        Understanding Advocacy and Your Role - Elected Officials

·        JobsOhio - Econ. Dev. Professionals
Kristina Clouse - Project Management Director, JobsOhio
      Nate Green - Senior Project Manager, JobsOhio

Workforce Development Panel Discussion/LUNCH - 11:45- 1:00 p.m.
           Sean Creighton - Executive Director, Southwestern Ohio Council for Higher Education
          Kim Frazier - Executive Director, Strategic Analytics & Evaluation, Dayton Development Coalition
            Thomas Lasley, PhD - Executive Director, Learn to Earn Dayton
        Steve Staub - President, Staub Manufacturing Solutions/Made In Dayton Blog
        Deb Norris - VP, Workforce Development & Corporate Services, Sinclair Community College
        John Trott - Executive Director, Area 7 Workforce Investment Board
        Lucious Plant - Retired Workforce Development Administrator, Montgomery County Job Center

BREAK 1:00-1:15 p.m.


Retention & Expansion: Group Session I  1:15-2:00
Gwen Eberly - Economic Development Director, City of Clayton/President, I70-75 Development Association
        Steve Brodsky - Development Director, City of Xenia
        Scott Koorndyk - EVP, Economic Development & Operations, Dayton Development Coalition          


Business Attraction: Group Session II  2:15 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
      Marty Hohenberger - VP, Business Development, Dayton Development Coalition
        Jared Ebbing - Community/Economic Development Director, Mercer County
        Greg Shackelford - Asst. City Manager, City of Vandalia
        Sheena Metzger - Site Selection Manager, JobsOhio

Wrap Up & Closing Comments

Adjourn    3:30pm

Registration Fees:
·        OEDA Members - $35
·        Nonmembers - $50


Registration is available through April 12th at 

 (Seating is limited, so register today.  You may register via credit card, check, or P.O., as well as print invoices, via our online system.)


If you have questions, please contact Karla at 614-228-4706 or



Thank you to our partners!